1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Cross! Incompetence at the council...

Discussion in 'Personal' started by anon3946, Aug 17, 2012.

1. I rented a studio flat for my PGCE year and spent most of the year dealing with the council's inability to record the fact that, as a registered student, I was exempt from paying council tax. I sent three exemption certificates (the last, I hand delivered to be on the safe side). Everyone from the council I have spoken to have confirmed that, as a registered PGCE student, I am, yes, exempt- they just needed the certificate. Provided. Not recorded, can I send it again? Etc. After hand delivering the last one, I recieved another bill; called up, oh yes, sorry, you're exempt, we'll adjust your records.
    I moved out two months ago; temporarily staying with my father and post is redirected to my stepfather's house- which is where I lived until I started my PGCE.
    Today, I picked up my post (I pick it up every week, at least)- and there is a bloody SUMMONS for unpaid council tax!!! Really rather cross after all the hassle I've had- and I don't even live there anymore! It's a simple admin issue- just the same admin issue I've been dealing with all year. You'd think SOMEONE would have managed to get it right in that time. Sadly, they're closed for the weekend now, so I'll have to deal with this (AGAIN) on Monday.
    /rant
    Stupid question- will this summons be held on record against me in any way?

2. If it is incorrect then it shouldn't be. However be prepared to keep nagging and fight them. These things can take time and effort to fight.

3. kibosh

kibosh Star commenter