1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Criteria for UPS3?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by AlongForTheRide, Oct 9, 2009.

1. AlongForTheRide

AlongForTheRide New commenter

As I am in my 2nd year of being on UPS2 Ihave been trying to find information about what I need to do to be awarded UPS3. I was under the impression that it needed to be something more than just 2 successful performance managements.

The only information I can find is from 2007 and states:
    Therefore, for teachers eligible for progression from UPS2 to UPS3, head teachers may
    reasonably focus on the parts of the evidence base that informs in respect of:
    • the extent to which the teacher provides a role model for teaching and learning;
    • the distinctive contribution made by the teacher to the raising of pupil standards;
    • the effectiveness of the teacher’s contribution to the work of the wider team;
    • the professional development opportunities of which advantage has been taken
    (these could be formal INSET or other opportunities to widen professional
    experience);
    • the impact that any outcomes of professional development have had in improving
    pupils’ learning.

Has anyone been awarded UPS3 recently so they can tell me if they had to prove significant impact on the wider school?

Thanks

2. strawbs

strawbs Occasional commenter

I didn't do anything. Head told me I'd got it.
    STPCD 2009 has a paragraph called "clarifying UPS3" or something similar. I think it's in a box, but can't remember precisely where - it's a long document! Poss in section 4.

3. AlongForTheRide

Thanks [​IMG]

I'll see if I can find it.

4. becktonboy

becktonboy New commenter