1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Criminal Psychology Unit 34 BTEC Forensic Science - help?!!!

Discussion in 'Social sciences' started by klutzqueen, Dec 2, 2010.

1. Hi all,
    I'm a psych/socio teacher (usually A level) but am doing a unit on "Criminal Psychology" for the BTEC forensic science.
    As of yet, there is no textbook that I know of for my unit, so have been cobbling together stuff as I go!
    One bit I am stuck on however - for a merit, the students need to link psychological research to the sentencing and jury decision making process. I understand that conformity etc would explain why juries may feel pressured to all agree, and I understand how research into anger management training etc may affect sentencing.
    BUT, am struggling as to how research in these areas have changed policies/aspects of the criminal justice system!
    I've done a ton of background reading, but the links seem hazy in my mind and not obvious.
    If anyone knows what the heck I'm on about, I'd be grateful if it could be explained to me! [​IMG]
    Thanks
    Debbie

2. Hi Debbie.
    Not entirely sure what's going to be relevant as I don't know the spec. There are four probable lines into it: (1) research directly into jury processes; (2) research that has influenced what is/can be put before a jury and the instructions they are given with regard to it; (3) research that may be drawn on by psychologists appearing as expert witnesses in relation to some aspect of a case; and (4) research that has supported the overturning of jury decisions by higher courts. These areas are obviously overlapping. Some possible avenues are: