1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Creative ideas sharing a story Nursery/ Reception

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by lissi381, May 19, 2011.

1. lissi381

lissi381 New commenter

oow, ok, thanks everyone for your ideas and opinions, I will definetely take them on board. However, having read some of your comments, it does concern me that some people have very fixed ideas with what should or should not be done with stories. I believe, especially now as most schools are moving towards a creative curriculum, that we should be much more open minded and take risks with what we do. I certainly do not believe that the best thing we can do with a story is "tell it well" and as an author I would be rather disappointed with that comment. If i was an author, I would be flattered that someone had found in my book, the opportunity to teach something completely unrelated.
    I do agree that they are looking at how the practitioner interacts with the children, but lets not be naive, they are also looking for a wow factor, hence me not wanting to do the run of the mill puppets and hot seating.
    I do value peoples opinions and I think I have an idea now, if it works I will be happy to share it with others.

thanks again.

2. Ibuzzybea

Ibuzzybea Occasional commenter

All the best with your interview, I may be about to hijack your post and whilst I do have opinions on what others have voices they are not particularly passionate either way and believe all to have merit.