1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

CPD and supply teachers

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by j.craigie, Oct 12, 2011.

1. Hi, I've been a supply teacher now for nearly 2 years having given up a permanent post due to 'stress'. I am now looking for permanent positions, but nearly all state that you need to have done some professional development over the last 2 years so I am at a big disadvantage as I've got none. Any ideas. I do get invited to occasional courses through my agencies but they are always on things that don't apply to me i.e. 'interactive whiteboards for beginners' - I've been using promethean for around 6 years and have reasonable experience with smart so it seemed pointless to attend. I have been keeping up to date with current issues by using the internet but I have no evidence of this!
    All ideas gratefully recvieved.
    JoC

2. If you get in any schools regularly maybe ask them if you can attend any CPD staff meetings they hold, voluntarily.

I guess it depends on what subject/age phase you are. www.musicleader.net offer free/low cost and subsidised music training workshops around the country if you register with them. There may be other places who do the same.

I am considering volunteering an afternoon at a local SEN school to get experience as I have an interest in working with SEN but no experience outside of mainstream.

3. Thanks for this, I do go into a couple of schools regularly so I'll ask them if I can join in with CPD.

4. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

Evening classes at local 6th Form college? Obviously they cost money, but they can lead to recognised qualifications.