1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

COVID-19. A way back in or a way out?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by kbhawkins686, Jun 10, 2020.

1. kbhawkins686

kbhawkins686 New commenter

Hello all,
    I'm here as I have a genuine interest in how fellow supply teachers are feeling at the moment with COVID-19 floating around.

You see, throughout my 20's I worked as a Nursery Nurse and a Learning Support Assistant. Nudged and prodded into teaching, I became qualified in 2017. Through thick and thin, including the abrupt and heartbreaking early diagnosis of dementia of my mother, I passed my induction year in 2 separate but unsupportive schools. I was proud as punch that I made it through the toughest of odds.

To help come to terms with the dementia diagnosis and to redevelop my confidence after those initial experiences, I went into supply last April and I have really enjoyed it. Before COVID-19 I had a developed close relationships with schools and their pupils and with this received regular work. I was even showered with gifts from time to time. I am a good little teacher, I excel with pupil relationships and the kids just love me. Supply definitely reinvigorated that love of working with children I felt in my 20's.

Then COVID-19 happened. I'm currently furloughed with a wonderful agency who adore and respect me and the hard work I do. However, in the last couple of months I have completely separated myself from the world of education. I mean completely. It was all brought back to me yesterday when an old mentor from my training pointed me towards a position in his school where I trained. "This is ideal for you, you'd be perfect for the job". Maybe it is and maybe I would be.