1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Cover Supervisor- is this too much?

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by emzygeorgiemoo, Nov 20, 2018.

1. emzygeorgiemoo

emzygeorgiemoo New commenter

I am a Cover Supervisor that initially agreed to teach Maths in the absence of a teacher.
    I took this on, as I have a degree-despite admitting it is not my subject area.

Since starting, the expectations have got higher and higher. I started off planning and delivering the lessons.
    Then I was roped into parents evening, all within a few weeks. On top of this, I am expected to cover around the absent teachers timetable. So I have his lessons AND I am covering during PPA time/free lessons. All for no thanks or any kind of increment.

It is great experience for me and I love seeing the same students week in, week out- but should I say enough now?
    I can live with snide comments from students and staff when the odd lesson doesn't go right, but I'm wondering if this is the norm for cover staff!
    I'm not motivated by money, wrong profession for that! I don't like being taken advantage of either!

Advice needed! (please).

pepper5 and install like this.
  2. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Star commenter

NO, NO, NO
    There are far too many downsides to what you are doing.

The Head of Maths is responsible for Progress being made in the department, that means s/he has to make sure your classes progress as well. The SLT above Maths has to facilitate all this Progressing. They both aren't going to accept any culpability in anything to do with you but paradoxically they have no responsibility towards helping you deliver better lessons.