1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Cover Supervisor Interview Help

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by sa1994, Jul 5, 2016.

1. sa1994

sa1994 New commenter

Hi Guys, new to the forum. Hope you are all well! :):D

I was wondering if you could help me with my upcoming interview for the role of Cover Supervisor. This will be my first interview at a school and as an aspiring teacher, I know this could be the first step towards achieving a career in education. I have no idea what sort of questions to expect. I have done extensive searches all over google and various forums. Most have been aimed towards NQT's, LSA's or TA's. Nothing specific to CS interviews. I would be soooo grateful if you guys could help me out as I have no idea what to expect. I should be getting a schedule for the day but I have no idea what sort of answers to prepare for my formal interview. Just thinking about it is turning my stomach :(

All help will be immensely appreciated.

Thanks x

2. lilmonster

lilmonster New commenter

You will probably be asked what skills you think you can bring to the role. A Cover Supervisor has to have decent literacy and numeracy skills, be patient, understand school policies regarding discipline etc. Can you use IT/ whiteboard/ technology etc? Often the work set will involve this. What would you do with regards to a Safeguarding issue, what would you do if there was a serious behaviour issue? Your role is to ensure that the pupils complete the work set and that order and discipline are kept, the reality is that you often get asked random subject questions and often have to support weaker pupils.

gingerhobo48 and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  3. gingerhobo48