1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Counting on from a number - HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Jennie1990, Apr 19, 2012.

1. Hi everyone.
    I am a student in my final year of practice teaching reception. Our objective when we go back after half termis to count on from a given number (counting on 1,2,3,4,5 more and recording).
    I am really struggling to think of any whole class activities. I have plenty for combinging two sets of objects (counting 3 bananas and adding 2 more - how many altogether etc) but I want them to count on from a numeral.
    So far I have for example, 5 apples (cover over and place numeral 5 on top) now showing 3 more - how many all together? But that's the only activity I can think of that fulfils the objctive. If any of you wise and amazing teachers have any ideas for teaching this concept I would love to hear them, I'm panicing now AHH!!!
    Thank you!!

2. Hi everyone.
    I am a student in my final year of practice teaching reception. Our objective when we go back after half termis to count on from a given number (counting on 1,2,3,4,5 more and recording).
    I am really struggling to think of any whole class activities. I have plenty for combinging two sets of objects (counting 3 bananas and adding 2 more - how many altogether etc) but I want them to count on from a numeral.
    So far I have for example, 5 apples (cover over and place numeral 5 on top) now showing 3 more - how many all together? But that's the only activity I can think of that fulfils the objctive. If any of you wise and amazing teachers have any ideas for teaching this concept I would love to hear them, I'm panicing now AHH!!!
    Thank you!!

3. HI,