1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Corporal Punishment

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Jd250, May 23, 2011.

1. Dear All, I hope you are all well and enjoying what you do within the teaching profession? I am currently a student on the Masters in International Education at the University of Leicester where I will be undertaking a small-scale study towards my dissertation. I was actually hoping to recruit some participants who would help me in gaining a better understanding of arguments for and against corporal punishment. My sample will be purposive as I require participants who were in the profession prior to the abolition of corporal punishment in 1987. Personal details will remain confidential and quotes used in the dissertation will also be annonymised. Please feel free to message me if you feel you can contribute towards my study as I would be very interested in hearing from you. Additionally, I would also be very grateful if you could kindly advise anyone who may be interested in assisting me with my research to contact me. The selected participants will be required to undertake a short interview lasting between thirty minutes to an hour at a time which is convenient for themselves. Please also note that you can withdraw from the research study at any time. Kind Regards, Jaspreet

2. Mathsteach2

Mathsteach2 Occasional commenter

As far as the UK is concerned, my recommendation would be to start with "A Last Resort?", edited by Peter Newall as a Penguin Education Special, 1972.