1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Coronavirus tutoring

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by geographyrox, Feb 6, 2020.

1. geographyrox

geographyrox New commenter

I have been approached by a couple of tutoring companies on linkedin this past week offering considerable sums to tutor pupils in china affected by the closure of their schools. Is anyone currently doing this? It is a lot of money, but I have never done online tutoring before, and am a bit unsure about how it works, any advice?
    Thanks so much

2. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter

if they are offering considerable sums then they are charging even higher sums.
    For a situation which is enforced, out of their hands, and involving tragic deaths of people who had unkowingly contracted the virus before it was a "thing". And to provide this service at a high fee, they are willing to take on staff with no experience of online teaching.
    Do you want to work for a company which operates on that basis?

fwiw If I had opportunity to do this work I would do it for free.

3. bramblesarah

bramblesarah Occasional commenter

It's a market, if you can offer a service and they are willing to pay I say go for it. If you are a good experienced tutor and these kids dont want to miss out on education I don't see the problem.
    My cousins are in the building trade and last year there were wide spread floods where they live. They have made money from the insurance companies rebuilding after the flood. This is similar, an unfortunate situation but you are meeting a need in the market.

4. hs9981

hs9981 Established commenter

I'd be covering my webcam lens once you're finished.

5. briancant

briancant Occasional commenter