1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Corona virus - Am I being unreasonable?

Discussion in 'Education news' started by singalot97, Jun 3, 2020.

1. singalot97

singalot97 New commenter

I am a secondary school teacher in a school in one of the harder hit areas of London, and after the risk assessment I took part in yesterday, I have a question and would like honest opinions.

Throughout the reopening of schools, there have been many accusations thrown at teachers that we are being lazy, and even some people close to me have said that we are being unreasonable because, during this pandemic, everyone needs to do more to contain it and keep everything going.

I am not in the vulnerable health group, and I live with other key workers who are also not in the vulnerable health group (although one of my flat mates works with Primary children and the other is a care worker for elder people). I have to take two forms of public transport to get to work and another two to get back. I do have anxiety which has been quite severe in the past and has been impacted by this world wide pandemic.

My question is this:

Am I being unreasonable in raising issues about going back to school or raising section 44 because I feel unsafe, or am I prioritising my own health and well being instead of doing my best to help the country?

I like honest answers, no nastiness please (first time poster)

ridleyrumpus likes this.
  2. ACOYEAR8

ACOYEAR8 Star commenter