1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Copyright for English Literature/Reading Questions

Discussion in 'Tes Authors' Group' started by shoes123, Aug 26, 2019.

1. shoes123

shoes123 New commenter

Hi - I'd like to become a TES author and I'm a little confused about copyright law. As an English teacher I obviously use non-fiction and fiction texts which are current or extremely old. PPT slides and worksheets would need extracts from these texts (and in the case of poetry, the text in its entirety). I've had a look at the guidance on copyright in the Author's Academy section but it seems unclear as regards English teaching. Please can anyone help?

2. nwilkin

nwilkin Occasional commenter

You cannot include poems or text without the agreement of the copyright holder (usually the author). Copyrigt lasts for 70 years after the death of the author so unless you are using very old text it will probably still be under copyright. The difference is, if you are referancing old work but specifically referring to a new publication in then the publisher owns the copyright. You need to ask permission from the copyright holder.

3. shoes123

shoes123 New commenter

Thanks for this.

4. wordsmithDFA

wordsmithDFA New commenter

Please read the literature yourself. There is a 'Fair use' clause in the law itself which allows you to reproduce any author's work. It depends what you're using it for, why you're using it and how much you use. Teaching & reviewing are considered fair use. I mention reviewing because we analyse closely and they are reviews if you add them into your work.