1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Continue as supply or accept one term contract?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Kallie21, Jun 29, 2011.

1. I know this might sound like a no-brainer, but I wonder if there's more to be considered than meets the eye ...
    I've been doing supply work for a few years now, and have become increasingly annoyed that despite being on U1 (grade) I'm being offered an ever decreasing daily rate.
    I have worked for best part of the last two terms at one school, on the daily supply rate. Now this school has offered me one further term's work, and a term's contract if I wish. It sounds obvious that I should accept the contract, but I just wondered if there are issues I haven't considered. For example, will my agency ditch me, once they learn that I've 'moonlighted'.
    I think there may be some legal/contractual considerations that the school has to face, but they seem happy enough to deal with these. But for myself, I just wondered .... am I better remaining as an agency staff member on the daily rate, or taking the one term contract?
    Advice please!

2. Definitely take the contract. It has to be better paid than any agency money. On U1 you will find yourself significantly better off and you'll get paid for the holidays. You will be able to contribute to the pension and you'll be entitled to sick pay and maternity pay if necessary.

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

TAKE THE CONTRACT! It's a no-brainer. Regular work, which could lead to other things, paid over the holidays, someone to use for a reference for future job applications . . . .

4. les25paul

les25paul Star commenter