1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Constantly anxious student

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Bonnie23, Oct 13, 2018.

1. Bonnie23

Bonnie23 Occasional commenter

Hi,

Short story: Year 11 girl, extreme anxiety, nothing is helping, on a long list for help, having daily break downs.

Long story: I'm a year 11 tutor and have a girl in my tutor who is constantly anxious to the point where she is in tears every day. For this post I'm going to call her Louise.

Louise is a top student, targets of 9's for all of her subject and works extremely hard to meet those targets and is in the top sets for everything. She is a prefect, council member and does other extra cirruculars. During year 10 Louise started to become very anxious; she worried about all of her subjects, feeling she wasn't doing well enough. She does more than enough. She will work on her homework until 1am sometimes - she doesn't get enough sleep. I do feel angry with her parents for this because they know she needs to stop working.

We've had meetings with her and her parents one before and after summer. She has had a Camh's analysis and she is on the waiting list for help (approximately 6 months). Her parents have also paid for her to see a private counsellor to help her - nothing is working.

The school have given her a 'time out' card so Louise can go to a quiet area of the school to work or just to take five minutes to calm down. Myself and Louise have a check in every day. She is getting personal one to one from our head of year. We have given her a positivity card to help her track things that have gone well.