1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Considering teaching overseas, where to start?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by allend82, Dec 30, 2018.

1. allend82

allend82 New commenter

Hi all
    This is my first post on here and I'm in the very early stages of considering moving abroad (Asia, China, Middle East) to teach so would be grateful of some advice of where to start.
    My situation. I have 15 years teaching experience, currently head of year and have been PE HOD in the past.
    1. Most jobs I've seen are for teachers without responsibilities, do heads of year, pastoral leadership roles exist? Would I need to start as main pay scale teacher?

I would be moving with my wife and 2 children (8&10 yo), my wife is an unqualified primary teacher , 5 years experience of teaching assistant prior in both secondary & primary.

2.Would schools consider appointing us both?

In terms of job searches I have looked obviously on the TES.

3. Is there anywhere else I should be looking?

4. Would you recommend registering with an agency, if so which one(s)?

I have seen that most jobs require a C.V, I haven't had a C.V since leaving school as all teaching jobs have been in the form of application form and cover letter.

5. Is a teaching CV different to a 'normal' CV? Any guide or templates of this would be appreciated.

Many thanks in advance

2. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

HOD etc exist, but expect to apply for teaching posts. Schools often promote from within at that level. With the better packages overseas, you should easily make up for losing any responsibility allowance.
    You and your wife should apply together and look for schools that need both of you.