1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Considering change of career path advice please

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by fella, Apr 24, 2019.

1. fella

fella New commenter

Hello.

I have been teaching Geography ks3/4/5 since 2004, but I now find that I am beginning to lose my enthusiasm and enjoyment for teaching.

I would still like to use the skills and experience and enthusiasm for my subject that I have gained in this time, so am considering switching to teaching adults.

Either FE or HE. I am looking for any advice or guidance that people may be able to give on how workloads, pay, etc compare.
    Is it simple to transfer? I have taught A level, but I am wondering how to get into lecturing or any other for. Of adult education.

TIA.

2. ZanyInsany

ZanyInsany New commenter

Pay - less, but not significantly
    workload - less but not significantly
    holidays - less but not significantly

FE/HE are not necessarily easier. There are still behaviour issues, just no formal way of dealing with these, such as in schools, yet you still have to hit achievement, punctuality, attendance and retention targets.

I transferred from school to FE/HE 3 years ago and do not regret it. The pressures are less, the micro managing are less, I'm basically just left to get on with my job, whilst jumping through a couple of hoops every now and then. Of course, that is just my college, and my subject area (not Geography), and others may well have different experiences.

3. abuzayd1987

abuzayd1987 New commenter