1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Considering a move to Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by nmdk93, Mar 29, 2019.

1. nmdk93

nmdk93 New commenter

My wife and I are considering a move to Jeddah to teach (I'm a PE teacher and she is a HLTA). We have not received a job offer yet however, I am still unsure about whether to commit to moving there or not. I have of course done my research of the potential schools out there. However, a lot of the reviews online seem very outdated or someones personal rant against a specific school.. Has anyone got any up to date experience of working and living in Jeddah? I would appreciate it if you would comment on your general package, interview questions/style or whatever else you feel is necessary!

Thank you all in advance.

2. Helen-Back

Helen-Back Occasional commenter

Why Jeddah? So many better places.

3. makhnovite

makhnovite Established commenter

The perceived wisdom is/was that Jeddah is one of the better places to live and work in the Magic Kingdom! It is a little less strict than Riyadh, it has a decent corniche, as well as shops and cafes. It is just a ferry ride across the Red Sea to Egypt (Hurghada El Gouna and other beach resorts). It also used to have two or three decent schools but I have no experience of them today. As you say much of the info on here and on ISR is very out of date. I think this is mainly as it is not as popular as a destination as it once was, the rise of the S.E. Asian market has seen to that!

nmdk93 likes this.
  4. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper