1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Confused between Further Education Teaching and Secondary

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by qmaq26, Aug 2, 2011.

1. Hello everyone this is my first post so naturally I will have lots to ask you guys. So here goes. I graduated with a degree in Sports studies in 2007. On finishing my degree I was successful in obtaining my first job as a sports development officer. I worked with young people and adults in the community to set up provisions in physical activity and sports. I also worked in local authority and the health service setting up health and wellbeing projects for communities. My experience in all this has led me in to my current post as a community health researcher and Health Education Tutor teaching adults. The organisation I work for is th Workers Education Association (WEA) a national organisation working with adult learners. First of all I was interested in doing the post compulsory education in further education teaching sports. But after reading and researching FE on this site I have my doubts. FE is not what I thought it would be in terms of the job prospects. I was wondering if their are any FE lecturers who can give me an insight in to FE and how stable it is and if it's a good idea to go in too? I was so committed to teaching in FE that I also completed the PTTLS course but now I think this was a pointless task. I have also thought about the PGCE secondary teaching in PE. However this seems very competive and obtaining a job at the end of it seems very bleak. Although I have experience working in schools coaching sports and worked as a youth worker for a year and a half but I do not have any experience teaching in school. Will this