1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Confused about number bonds and facts Y1.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by chocciemad, Apr 7, 2010.

1. Hi guys I am an NQT and a little bit confused about how to teach these! I taught number bonds (addition ) to 10 in January. I understand that the chn need to be able to reacll all number facts for all numbers up to 10! isn't this an awful lot?

how do you get your chn to remember all these? although we have covered no bonds to 10, my chn cant reacll them instantly!

So confused as to what to do now? should i start at 5 and make sure the chn know all addition and subtraction facts, then for 6, 7, 8 etc?

Please advise, at my wits end!

tHANK YOU

2. Hi I am a student on PGCE so probably much less experienced and you may want to discount my ideas...
    However last night I was thinking about this and I am making a little prop, which is a bus with ten windows. I cut the windows out and will laminate. I'm going to make 10 simple people's heads and necks to appear through the windows.
    I was thinking I could use it to say e.g. 5 people were sitting on the bus, 5 people got on, how many people were on the bus?
    Then we'd all 'put 5 in our heads' and count on 5 to ten. Ask a child to help me write this as a sum (5 +5=10)
    Repeat with other numbers then let children go to their desks to work on number bond sums that remain on the board using bus prop on the table, or counters to represent the number of people.
    What do you think?
    For the follow up lesson it could be the subtraction facts i.e. there were 10 people on the bus, 9 got off, how many were left?