1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Confused: 2 College Degrees

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by gyselsolerswim, Oct 6, 2019.

1. gyselsolerswim

gyselsolerswim New commenter

Hi. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology emphasis in Counseling. I have a Master’s in Teaching (MAT). I have 6 years of teaching experience and a license I achieved after my formal education training with my Master’s degree.

A recruiting Agency told me that I couldn’t apply to teach in Dubai but highly recommended China because my bachelor’s is not in education. Needless to say, the recruiter is based in China. What do you think? Is that true that even though I have a Bachelor’s in Psychology and a Master’s in Education my options are limited? Thanks.

2. amysdad

amysdad Established commenter

UAE (including Dubai) is funny about what it considers degrees - yes, if you are primary / lower school teacher then you wouldn't be able to teach in primary because your degree is not the subject which you will be teaching. You would, however, probably be able to teach Psychology in Secondary / High School if that's what you're looking for.

Here in China, though, they're not as ridiculously picky. It depends what you're wanting to teach, but primary would be a good option here. Your MEd would also put you in good standing (and would probably give you a small uplift on any salary.)

3. february31st

february31st Established commenter

Only a 3 year degree obtained in a native English speaking country qualifies you to teach in China.

4. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

It's true. Your undergraduate degree needs to be in your subject for the UAE

5. taiyah

taiyah Occasional commenter