1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Confidence crisis or just being realistic about my strengths and weaknesses?

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by sedai, Jan 18, 2011.

1. Hello! I think there are quite a few issues here for you - you liked some of the job but not others, you have had good feedback but have no self-confidence...lots of contradictions! I have been teaching for 9 years now and have never wanted to do anything else (except perhaps at the moment with all the awful Government changes)!
    There are several points to consider:
    1) if you couldn't cope full-time, how would your finances and career progression work? Can you afford to be a part-time teacher, would you want to build on your hours in the future, are you prepared to come in for parents' evenings etc on your days off? Would you feel properly integrated into school life?
    I think part-time work is sometimes harder than full-time - you often have split classes with other teachers and can sometimes mean you take longer to settle in and make friends etc. On the other hand, this may be a happy medium for you to become a teacher in the future.
    2) read through your tutor/mentor/whoever's comments about your teaching. Focus ONLY ON THE POSITIVE COMMENTS. What are your strengths? You wouldn't have passed your PGCE if you weren't - at the very least - competent. This is encouraging!