1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

'Conduct in the workplace letter received and i'm terrified.

Discussion in 'Personal' started by betty73, Mar 12, 2011.

1. I need some advice/opinions, i'll post this in a couple of areas to get as many opnions as possible.
    So, got a letter in the post today calling me into a meeting to discuss my 'conduct in the work place'...now, I have been off work for 5 months ill and went back a week ago and have so far only taught 4 lessons. Could my conduct be that I was ill? I have literally done NOTHING that could be negative conduct! I am a good teacher (with an Ofsted outstanding last year to prove it!)
    They haven't told me what I have supposedly done but the wording of the letter is so harsh and details what will happen next if they find against me, it makes it sound like they have already decided i'm guilty of whatever it is they think I did.
    My school is making redundantcies and I am wondering if they are just fishing for an excuse to get rid of me because of my sickness record.
    Can they do that?
    This has completely ruined my weekend and I can't get hold of anyone at work to discuss it. I am panicking and feeling like I must have done something awful but I have no clue what it is. I'm just crying and feeling like I cannot possibly go in next week now.

2. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter

I object greatly to such panic instigating methods in the teaching profession. Whatever the meetings purpose should be clearly stated - and dropping such letters in on am employee on a Friday only means that any queries/ need for advice cannot be sought until after a stressful weekend. Bad, bad form.