1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Concerns over On Line teaching

Discussion in 'Independent' started by Countingtosummer, Apr 1, 2020.

1. Countingtosummer

Countingtosummer New commenter

I’m a Housemistress and Mathematics teacher. I hope that you don’t mind me sharing my concerns about online provision for pupils; I’d really welcome your thoughts and advice.

Firstly, I am really fortunate- my family and friends are currently all healthy which is the most important thing, and I work in a large school that is financially in a strong position (although I realise this is an incredibly testing time for any independent school) and am currently being paid. Some staff such as matrons, maintenance dept, admin etc have been furloughed but teaching staff are being paid. We were just uploading work and providing feedback to pupils to tide us over til the end of term. This has gone well but I understand the pressure the Headmistress was under from parents comparing provision at other leading schools and she wrote to parents saying that we would go to online lessons on zoom or teams after the Easter holidays. This wasn’t discussed with staff and we have received no training on how to do this. As a Housemistress, I have been asked to video call each of my pupils (52 of them) once a week on Teams.