1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Concerns about lack of risk assessment

Discussion in 'School trips' started by reeveselizabeth, Jun 14, 2018.

1. reeveselizabeth

reeveselizabeth New commenter

I am a UK trained teacher working in a British School in Spain. We are about to embark on a trip to Madrid with year 9 and 10 students but there has been little planning and communication to us teachers that are accompanying the trip. I am concerned that there is no risk assessment for a 4 day residential trip. Apparently they dont do that here is Spain, even though we are supposed to be functioning as a British School here.
    I know I am used to risk assessment overload in some cases from the UK but am I over reacting about this? We leave on Monday!

2. blazer

blazer Star commenter

Do they use consent forms in Spain? Perhaps they may contain useful information on the kids. Who is the staff member in charge? Ask them.

3. lunarita

lunarita Established commenter

I understand your concerns.
    It does seem fairly normal here for the admin team to choose, organise and book school trips without any involvement from teaching staff and I've heard of a few hair-raisers that would never have been agreed in the UK. They think they're doing you a favour though, not dumping the planning and organisation on you, so try not to take it badly.

There will be consent forms, or should be.

Almost certainly everything will be fine.
    If anything about the trip is unsuitable, unafe or inappropriate, remember you didn't book it, someone at school planned this and decided that it was all ok, not you.

If it makes you feel better, put your concerns in writing before you go.