1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Concerned about seeing doctor

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by anon3946, Nov 23, 2011.

1. To cut a long story short (ish), I have a history of depression and associated issues dating back from my early teens. Some issues are beginning to creep in again and I'm loathe to go to the doctor about it. Partly because I've had some poor experiences in seeking help ("well, we WOULD put you on this drug BUT I don't think so...", going to a councellor who made me draw pictures then tried to tell me how I felt (wrongly) but interpreting them (badly- claiming a person had a face when in fact it was the overlap of my stickman circle-head), etc); partly due to not having a doctor; partly because I'm AWFUL at talking about this- I kind of feel like a fraud, because I'm functioning and, besides a drunken moment of stupidness, I have not caved in to any stupid impulses; but mainly because, when I signed up to my PGCE, I had to fill in a medical form and then had calls from the uni to check my mental stability- I don't want people thinking I'm unfit to do a job which is, quite frankly, the good thing in my life and my reason for getting up each morning. I fear there'd be the assumption that it's the stress of a PGCE which is doing me in, when it's the complete opposite!
    Any suggestions, or do I just need to plough on and hope it goes away?

2. If you had a history of a dicky heart, and started getting chest pains would you go see the Doctor?
    If you had a history of bad joints, maybe one in particular, and a twinge happened a few times in the same week,would you go see the Doctor?