1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Concern for a child

Discussion in 'Personal' started by FTLOG100, Nov 17, 2015.

1. FTLOG100

FTLOG100 New commenter

Sorry, I am new to all this but I wondered if anyone had any advice or had been in the same position as me.

Since September I have been teaching a little Polish boy. I have never been so affected by a child in my class before (I have been teaching for 11 years!) He was left with a 'friend' of his mum's boyfriend who lived in our village and she enrolled him in school and did her best for him in very difficult circumstances and had been his full time carer since February. He was very underweight and always hungry so we made sure that he got breakfast at breakfast club, tuck, seconds at dinner and the opportunity for an afternoon snack. Despite this, he worked really hard and was very affectionate and kind. I felt very protective of him, as school was his safe haven.

Last week his Mum reappeared and has removed him from school and taken him to the other side of the country. I am genuinely concerned for him, I have been on the brink of tears because I just want to know that he is safe and that he won't be hungry and that someone will care about him. In a way, I just want to know that he is going to be okay.

If he enrols in a new school, will his notes be asked for? If so then I can find out where he has gone and give his new teacher the heads up on making sure he has enough to eat.

Has anyone been in this situation or have you any advice?

2. lanokia

lanokia Star commenter

Was this raised with social services? A note of concern?

3. Dragonlady30

Dragonlady30 Star commenter