1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Computer Science PGCE without related degree but lots of work exp?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by DrTomato, Jun 8, 2020.

?

Should I apply for Computer Science

Poll closed Jun 18, 2020.
  1. Give it a go

3 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Don't bother

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Hi,

Does anyone know if it's worth bothering applying for a PGCE in computer science as a mature student without having a related degree?

I have a science degree and maths + English GCSE's. I've also spent 20 years working as a computer programmer and I also taught it at university level for one semester (overseas).

I'm torn between applying to teach either science or computer science but my first love is chemistry and I'm not really happy with the idea of getting drawn into teaching physics or (god forbid) maths.

A bit off topic but if they're insisting on applicants having an A Level or degree in computing then this is probably why so few people want to teach the subject. Less than 10% of the programmers I've worked with over the years have had related degrees. The best programmer I ever worked with majored in English.

2. inkymark

inkymark New commenter