1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

'Compulsory' CPD research project?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by MagisterArtium, Jan 13, 2012.

1. Hi all,
    I am a second year teacher who completed their NQT year with 8 others. At the end of our NQT we were offered the chance to complete a research project. It was voluntary and there was a stipend of £500 on completion. None of us took up the offer, mainly due the the fact that in previous years there were also 30 credits at Masters level available which were no longer offered. I'm already studying for a p/t MA and decided it wasn' t in my interests to take on anymore work.
    On Wednesday we were all asked to attend a meeting with the NQT co-ordinator and CPD go-ordinator. We were told that as 2nd year teachers we were all going to be completing a research project for the school. We were told that is was compulsory CPD and when we enquired about the £500, were told we would not be paid.We were also told that it would be very difficult for any of us to pass through threshold (in my case, three years) if we were not to do a project like this, and it's in our best interests to carry out the project. We will not be given any additional free periods and will be expected to complete the project work during our PPAs and own time.
    Needless to say, we're all very unhappy about the situation.
    Can CPD be made compulsory for a group of qualified teachers? None of us have any capability procedures in place, there are no concerns about our ability to teach - we have all been graded as good or outstanding in NQT year and in our first obs this year.