1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

compulsory but "voluntary" overtime

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Nationwide1966, Jan 31, 2011.

1. I work part time as an SSA in a first school employed 3 hours (9am-12pm) every day. Our school offers a creche facility for parents to leave their children in (any age range) on parent's evenings and we have been advised that as the full time TA's do not think it is fair that they have to cover the creche each time that the part time SSA's are now expected to "volunteer" to cover these sessions too and also to cover the after school discos from 3.45pm to 6.16pm. The creche evening sessions start at 3.45pm and end often 7pm or later. I do not think it is fair at all that we are expected to cover these sessions as I work the hours I work due to having children myself and my husband works away a lot so having to find childcare for my children while I go to look after other peoples children for no extra pay or time off does not seem right at all. As a part time SSA I regularly do overtime when covering all day school trips (I have racked up 15 hours plus already from Sept - Dec) so I feel that is my overtime contribution. When covering these trips I have been told that I cannot claim the overtime as extra pay as there is not budget for this and I am only allowed to take time owed off when the child I support is off poorly or on holiday as they would be unsupported otherwise. Does this seem fair or is it just me?

2. lizziescat

lizziescat Star commenter

Just say no. What will they do? Not pay you for the voluntary work?
    or 'I am sorry but I can't find childcare. Are you suggesting that I leave illegally leave my children unsupervised?'

3. coppull