1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Complaint

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by QT1, Nov 19, 2019.

1. QT1

QT1 New commenter

Hi all,

I was a student starting in 2017 and finished my first placement on a grade 1. My second placement however was a very different story, the school were awful and so unsupportive - long story short they tried to fail me. I left the placement and had to wait until last year to redo it (I stuck it out until 8 days before the end of my hellish placement!) and again finished on a grade 1. I now work in the school I had my second placement resit at and they couldn’t be more supportive, absolutely fantastic to work for.

The experience I had at the second placement still affects me even now and it has been playing on my mind all this time whether or not to write a letter to the governors about one member of staff’s (deputy head/ student mentor) conduct in particular - but I know how things can travel in teaching. I’m worried this might end up making things worse for me in terms of finding jobs in the future, I don’t want word to spread locally that I’m a trouble causer!

Any advice?

2. Lalad

Lalad Star commenter

What is it that you want to achieve?

3. Corvuscorax

Corvuscorax Star commenter

YOu can't make a complaint after you have left the school

4. QT1

QT1 New commenter

I think what’s kept me so hung up is that I can’t bare the thought of the member of staff getting away with that behaviour. I suppose what I’m asking is, is it worth it or do I buck up and get on with it?

5. sooooexcited

sooooexcited Occasional commenter

Unfortunately whether it's worth it or not is irrelevant. It's too late.

jlishman2158 likes this.
  6. QT1