1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Comparing the speed of light and sound

Discussion in 'Science' started by 1nancy, Mar 5, 2011.

1. I wonder if anyone can help?
    I'm a primary teacher working in Y6 and for an observed lesson in a couple of weeks time I'd like the children to investigate which travels faster, sound or light. This will be at a very basic level.
    I've found an activity where you divide the class as far apart as you can - across the school field or playground. One team then shine a torch and blow a whistle at the same time. The idea is that the other team should see the light fractionally before they hear the whistle.
    I know that this isn't the most scientific of investigations, but as a quick, practical way of showing that light travels faster than sound, would it work?
    Usually I'd test science investigations out for myself before doing them in class, but I live by myself so this one's a bit tricky!
    Thanks for any help or ideas.

2. I wonder if anyone can help?
    I'm a primary teacher working in Y6 and for an observed lesson in a couple of weeks time I'd like the children to investigate which travels faster, sound or light. This will be at a very basic level.
    I've found an activity where you divide the class as far apart as you can - across the school field or playground. One team then shine a torch and blow a whistle at the same time. The idea is that the other team should see the light fractionally before they hear the whistle.
    I know that this isn't the most scientific of investigations, but as a quick, practical way of showing that light travels faster than sound, would it work?