1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Coming back to teaching! Help needed

Discussion in 'Primary' started by wobblewibble, Jun 12, 2011.

1. I was a primary teacher for 14 years, until I moved to Scotland with my husband's job. In our naiivety, we were led to believe that I would be able to teach in Scotland. Unfortunately that was not the case. So I have been out of the classroom for 3 years, but had a baby during that time, so it was not wasted time!!lol. Due to us having our little girl, we decided we wanted to move closer to family as being 500 miles away was not easy to see nan and grandad. So we have moved back to England, and I am thinking about going on the supply list, and I am feeling very nervous as I have been out of the system so long. Am I right in thinking that there is now a creative curriculum, and that we no longer do Literacy or Numeracy hours? Gosh I feel like an NQT again!

2. becky70

becky70 New commenter

There is a creative curriculum - in some schools. However most schools do still do Literacy and Numeracy sessions daily (maybe not an hour now). OFSTED focus is still on literacy and numeracy so they are still top priorities. However we do have a new government now so there will be more changes on the way!
    Good luck with supply - if you are going for it, the Supply Teachers forum on here is a good place to ask questions and get help.