1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice
  3. The Teacher Q&A will be closing soon.

If you have any information that you would like to keep or refer to in the future please can you copy and paste the information to a format suitable for you to save or take screen shots of the questions and responses you are interested in.

Don’t forget you can still use the rest of the forums on theTes Community to post questions and get the advice, help and support you require from your peers for all your teaching needs.

Dismiss Notice

close to jacking it all in

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by rainbow_gold, Mar 23, 2011.

1. rainbow_gold

rainbow_gold New commenter

Im a pgce student currently on my second and final placement. I love teaching and I have very supportive staff all around me, who say I'm generally doing well but i feel flat, useless and basically a failure.
    I've just had two horrendous lessons - swearing, arguing, bad attitudes, insults to my teaching skills and on and on and its just made me think maybe im not good enough for this.
    I'm trying all the strategies that i've observed, read about and followed advice from the other members of the department but nothing seems to be working - if anything I think things are getting worse as the kids hate me and want to wind me up. They will turn themselves around for the other members of staff (i know this might partly be to be with the fact that they know they are permanent staff members) so its obviously down to me that the kids are acting this way.
    Im exhausted and running out of ideas, the thought of facing these classes again tomorrow and bascially having another lesson where they learn nothing makes me want to cry.