1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Clearly earning less as a teacher...!

Discussion in 'Education news' started by thekillers1, Dec 5, 2018.

1. thekillers1

thekillers1 Lead commenter

FFBBC84C-3D4D-481E-85B6-C577F23D3E41.jpeg

install likes this.
  2. simonbfc

simonbfc New commenter

But he won't be building up a good pension before receiving that net pay and have decent holidays or have much chance of career progression. I am a Teacher and think we should be paid more, but it is important to have the full picture.

3. thekillers1

Thank you :)

4. drek

drek Lead commenter

But many teachers are being driven out - replaced by a succession of newbies, or fall Ill due to the mental and physical stress of their conditions at work.

Can't build up anything on straw supports.......

damia69, Alice K, Shedman and 6 others like this.
  5. Robfreeman

Robfreeman Occasional commenter

I will bite
    1. Yes i have decent holidays but im not paid for those holidays my term time pay is pro rata to cover that period. If i wanted a summer job i need my HT permission.
    2. What career progression - not everyone can be a HoD or SLT take a typical school in my area 40-50 teachers 8 HoD and 4 SLT are you saying everyone has good career progression you dont see tons of SLT posts out there.
    3. I do get a good pension by 8% of my pay every month goes into that and i have to work 37 full years according to the TPS to qualify for it. Im 32 also even if i make it to SLT my pension will amount to 21k max.

I enjoy my job but being blunt my take home pay after tax and deductions is 1600 a month. I could if i wanted to get that in other jobs.

damia69, Shedman, agathamorse and 6 others like this.