1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

classroom observation

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by valiantkate, Nov 13, 2011.

1. I have just recieved feedback from our new head about an observation that took place a week ago.I was given a slating and made to feel like I was 5 years old. It was very humiliating and upsetting. I have been teaching a long time and I know that I am a good teacher. In fact this is the first negative observation I have ever received. We had an Ofsted inspection in the summer and I was classed as an 'outstanding' teacher.
    I am to receive another observation shortly, quite frankly I havent slept all weekend.
    I have noticed though that the head AND deputy observed me. The rest of the staff only had the headteacheer. I am not the only teacher to receive a 'slating', a colleague of mine has been off work since her feedback.
    I do agree with some of the comments but feel VERY vulnerable, as I mentioned I am an 'older' teacher, is the new head trying to push us out?
    Any comments or am I getting thoughts of paranoia????

2. FollyFairy

FollyFairy Occasional commenter