1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Classroom behaviour management ideas

Discussion in 'Vocational' started by cliffgalea, Sep 13, 2016.

1. cliffgalea

cliffgalea New commenter

Hi everyone,

I am a new teacher and have a very unruly class. There are 12 students ages 15-18 years old. I am new to this age group as I am used to teach students with disabilities. I tried to establish ground rules but went all wrong during second lesson. Does anyone have suggestions on managing their behaviour. common problems: using phones in class, coming late, using inappropriate language and an "i don't want to be here attitude"

Thanks in advance for all the help

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Since you posted this in the Vocational Forum, I take it that you are teaching in further education college. Try the following:

1. Get the college's behaviour policy and read it thoroughly so you know the systems in place for sanctioning inappropriate behaviour.

2. Get a copy of the book Taking Care of Behaviour by Paul Dix and sign up for behaviour management tips at the Pivotal Education web site.

3. Explain to the class that you are there to help them, and for the sake of the group there has to be certain rules. You have an advantage as there are only 12 students in your class. If they start using a phone, are off task, disturbing the lesson, or any other inappropriate behaviour, give them a couple of warnings in a calm manner and use the school's policy for either having them removed from your lesson or phoning the parents. You may need to discuss this with your HoD.

Paul Dix suggests using three simple rules and I use these as a supply teacher and they do work:

1. Follow instructions fast
    2. Stay on task