1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Classics/Latin in International Schools

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Adrift43, Oct 9, 2018.

1. Adrift43

Adrift43 New commenter

Hello everyone,

First time posting to this board and I'm kind of posting on behalf of my wife. The two of us are looking to get into teaching overseas in International Schools. I am an English/History/Religious Studies teacher with 5 years (and a bit) experience in British Schools whilst she is a Classics/Latin teacher with 7 years experience (4 of which she was a head of subject) in British Schools. Both of us have worked in Grammar and Comprehensives. My wife is also capable of (And is currently teaching) English and History at her current school. So now with that introduction out of the way onto the main questions:

1. Which schools on the International School circuit feature Classics/Latin on the curriculum?

2. How frequently do Latin jobs spring up during the peak hiring season?

Currently my wife is wishing that we wait till February for a Latin job to spring up and then I follow her (as I am more flexible). I however am a bit concerned that if we wait that long to start applying for jobs starting in August 2019, we'll miss out on some great opportunities. I thought it may be useful to gather more opinions facts on this matter from you, the international community here on TES.

My wife is willing to teach English/History if Latin doesn't become an option I should note.

Looking forward to hearing from the experts here!

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper