1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Class reader for Year 7

Discussion in 'English' started by wormburger, Feb 11, 2012.

1. Hi, I'm an MFL teacher who is taking on some Year 7 English teaching, due to a collegue leaving suddenly. I have been asked to do one 'reading lesson' a week and am after suggestions as to what would be a good book to read as a class.
    It's a private school so I get the impression they are fairly flexible re schemes of work and so on and therefore it's my choice. I have some ideas but I have no idea whether the things I'm thinking off would be too old or too young. My daughter is only 17 months so I have no idea what Year 7 read! They are a mixed ability all girl group. I was thinking about 'Matilda', as it was a favourite of mine, is that too young?
    Thanks for your help x

2. Hi, I'm an MFL teacher who is taking on some Year 7 English teaching, due to a collegue leaving suddenly. I have been asked to do one 'reading lesson' a week and am after suggestions as to what would be a good book to read as a class.
    It's a private school so I get the impression they are fairly flexible re schemes of work and so on and therefore it's my choice. I have some ideas but I have no idea whether the things I'm thinking off would be too old or too young. My daughter is only 17 months so I have no idea what Year 7 read! They are a mixed ability all girl group. I was thinking about 'Matilda', as it was a favourite of mine, is that too young?
    Thanks for your help x