1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Class libraries - any money to update?

Discussion in 'Education news' started by lonnie2512, Feb 19, 2019.

1. lonnie2512

lonnie2512 New commenter

Hi,

I have been a primary school teacher in Tower Hamlets for the past eight years and (as all of us are) am concerned about the impact of school funding cuts on our children. Increasingly overwhelmed - I've chosen to pick just one area to do battle against - access to books. As a result, a a friend and I are investigating setting up a programme where corporations/individuals can donate new books directly to schools, and where used books can be recycled and given to children to take home.

I was wondering if you can respond to these questions to help me get a wider perspective (sanity check that it's not just at my school where books are mostly sellotape at this point!):

• How would you describe the quality of books in your book corners? (are they in good condition? age appropriate? Do they appeal to/reflect the pupils?)

• How does your school fund new books in school? (Has the budget for this changed over the past few years? Is there money allocated for updating class libraries?)

• What kind of access do you think pupils have to books outside of school? (Do many have books at home? Do they visit the library?)

• Do you supplement your class / school libraries with books you have bought yourselves?
    This feedback will really help us to assess the need and figure out the next steps!

2. Piscean1

Piscean1 Senior commenter

I think we're quite well resourced as far as books go but I know that we're strange. (Little bit more support for SEND wouldn't go amiss but hey ho!)