1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Class cover - not respected by the class

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by donaldvass, Mar 29, 2012.

1. Hi everyone. It's my first year as a learning support assistant (in a year six class, age 10/11) and I'm hoping for your advice and experiences after a bad day. I occassionally have to do some class cover which although I'm still a little uncomfortable with, usually goes fine. It was probably my fifth time, today.
    The teacher hadn't really left much for them to get on with, and alot of them became bored and restless and I didn't really have anything to pacify them with. Many of them were extremely rude to me and openly challenging my authority. I had to give several of them detentions but they seemed not to care, and continued behaving very badly. I work with this class fairly regularly and thought I had built up a good relationship with many of them but much of the class seemed today to have absolutely no respect for me at all.
    I'm going off to do my PGCE next year and days like this are so disheartening and make me reconsider how good a teacher I will be and whether or not I'm up to it. I do think I'm good at my job but perhaps my skills lie in being an LSA rather than a class teacher. Is it normal to have experiences like this? How best to deal with it when it does happen?