1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Class assemblies - ideas please!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by bedingfield, Sep 21, 2009.

1. bedingfield

bedingfield New commenter

Can anybody help me? I am in my second year of teaching (currently yr 5) and last year, class assemblies across the school very rarely happened. This year the head is making sure that everybody has class or year group assemblies on the days there are not whole school ones.
    Does anyone have any ideas for themes, or can they give me titles of books that may help me?
    Any ideas or suggestions will be much appreciated.

2. bedingfield

Can anybody help me? I am in my second year of teaching (currently yr 5) and last year, class assemblies across the school very rarely happened. This year the head is making sure that everybody has class or year group assemblies on the days there are not whole school ones.
    Does anyone have any ideas for themes, or can they give me titles of books that may help me?
    Any ideas or suggestions will be much appreciated.

3. we tend to base class assemblies on the theme we are doing that term... ie. ww2 so would do evacuation and get children to read diary entries...

for the tudors we did the court case for Henry the eighth..

4. We have two KS2 assemblies a week led by the SMT, one 'hymn practice/service and 2 assemblies led by teachers. One of these is a KS2 assembly and one a class assembly. The SMT provide their own ideas but I have concocted a 2 year rolling programme for us teachers - approx 150 assemblies. Apart from the excellent site www.assemblies.org these are the books I have used to put them together