1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Claiming Jobseekers Allowance

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by opendoors, Aug 10, 2011.

1. I am a supply teacher who is planning to claim JSA. How many days will it take for the JSA to let us know if our claim has been successful?
    Also my fiancee or partner hasnt been working since February. Since she was struggling to get work we then agreed if she can move in with me as from May.
    Can she claim JSA dating back from the time she stopped working?

Thank you guys.

2. I am a supply teacher who is planning to claim JSA. How many days will it take for the JSA to let us know if our claim has been successful?
    Also my fiancee or partner hasnt been working since February. Since she was struggling to get work we then agreed if she can move in with me as from May.
    Can she claim JSA dating back from the time she stopped working?

Thank you guys.

3. She can try back-claiming, but unfortunately it will be very difficult to convince them. I didn't apply straight away after finishing my PGCE, and despite having proof of when the course ended, I wasn't allowed to claim back pay. In the words of the employee who dealt with the claim, "we only allow it if someone's died or the job centre building's burned down or something." I did get a week's worth of back pay from them once,due to their own incompetence when they processed forms incorrectly and signed me off without my knowledge so I had to do a rapid reclaim.
    It took me a week to find out about my initial claim, but it varies I think.

4. jubilee

jubilee Star commenter

Your partner will not be able to back claim.