1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Christmas Card from the Head

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by radical_teacher, Dec 14, 2010.

1. Hi

I am new at teaching in the school in Uk. i have noticed something and wondering if any (Headteachers) can explain this:
    The headteacher in the secondary school has given cards to staff in the school but not all staff, i.e not all teachers and she has left out the TA.
    Why would the headteacher do this? Is this a tradition? Is she trying to say something to other staff who not gone.Do you think this is right? Should the head be doing this, causing a division?

Thanks
    P.S I got one but I didnt feel comfortable when i open my in front of the one who did not get one.

2. Hi

I am new at teaching in the school in Uk. i have noticed something and wondering if any (Headteachers) can explain this:
    The headteacher in the secondary school has given cards to staff in the school but not all staff, i.e not all teachers and she has left out the TA.
    Why would the headteacher do this? Is this a tradition? Is she trying to say something to other staff who not gone.Do you think this is right? Should the head be doing this, causing a division?

Thanks
    P.S I got one but I didnt feel comfortable when i open my in front of the one who did not get one.

3. This is not a tradition(!) but a HT making a cheap point. Definitely not standard practice but divisive and petty. Let's hope the remaining Christmas cards are on their way soon.

4. Our head would do this sort of.. People would get Christmas cards and then more people and more.... You would get worried, but in the end everyone got one, it just took him a long time to write them all!