1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Choosing time: Should I become a teacher in the UK?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by shanewhitejackbauer, Jun 12, 2019.

1. shanewhitejackbauer

shanewhitejackbauer New commenter

Dear Tes

I am a 33 year old Irish PhD graduate in Physics, living in the Netherlands and uninterested in doing research anymore. I have been in and out of work for 4 years since my graduation. I have been considering teaching in England since I graduated in 2015. I have applied 4 times for teaching and each time I either turned down the offer or I got on the HR lady's nerves so badly, they "lost" my application. I might have indirectly called them "incompetent" for screwing up my interview date AFTER I bought all the non-refundable tickets to go there but I digress.
    I am a volunteer teacher in a local school here in the NL so I have some experience in teaching and I enjoy it. For whatever reason, I find myself unable to "pull the trigger" on moving to do a school-direct/Teaching course in the UK. The closing date for the 2019 applications is coming up and I am once again paralyzed about what to do. Teaching in NL is not a option as a) I do not speak languages good enough to teach in Dutch and I have tried very hard to do so. b) International schools are full of exiled UK teachers with more experience than me and usually they demand qualifications I don't have. c) Universities don't hire dedicated lecturers here so that approach is out.

I have a number of reasons/negative beliefs for holding back on moving to the UK
    1) Brexit; (not an issue for me legally, but it leads into point 2)