1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Chinese Z Visa and spouse visa

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by thekrakensmith, Feb 11, 2019.

1. thekrakensmith

thekrakensmith New commenter

Hi!

I have been lucky enough to be offered a last minute post in a school I'm really excited about, and I'm moving to China as soon as the visa works through, but I'm new to this and I've a couple questions for anyone that has done this!
    Firstly, now I've sent my authenticated documents (dear lord what a process!) any ideas how long it takes from here? It doesn't seem like it should be too long, the embassy site says it's a four day processing time, but I understand that there is some documents my school needs to send me before this.
    Secondly, I want my husband to move with me, as a trailing spouse. I'm not sure what the process is for him, has anyone else done this and is there anything anyone can share?

I am waiting to hear back from my school's HR team, but I'm interested in the actual experiences of people that have done it!

2. spanboy

spanboy Occasional commenter

Your husband will need an S1 spousal visa. It basically is affiliated to your Z visa. He will need to do some of the things you will have to do e.g. a medical examination, but not all e.g. won't need a police check. Your school will know what's needed. Contact them asap as things are constantly changing here in China.

3. february31st

february31st Established commenter

If you husband has a full time 3 yr degree it may be worth getting this authenticated and a police check done. Plenty of mickey mouse type teaching jobs available in Shanghai.

4. adrixargentina

adrixargentina Occasional commenter