1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Chinese New Year. HELP!! Dear James

Discussion in 'Primary' started by lauly, Jan 21, 2012.

1. I have been told (at quite short notice) that I am to be leading several CNY sessions in my reception class next week. I am a student teacher and my mentor has told me I have to do 6 sessions on the subject - mainly covering KUW (Sci, Hist and Geog). I am ion a pickle, however, bacause she has taken most of the useable ideas and I am stuck.

She is doing: The animal story. She is doing food. She is doing the dragon dance. She is doing the red envelopes. She is doing dragon masks. She is doing geog - where China is.

I need some thing cool and fun to do so I can impress.As I feel like I have been left with the scraps, and need to have several sessions from it.

I have 6 sessions (two of which are VERY small sessions - they are after play on the afternoon and last for approx 15-30 mins (depending on playtime).

I was thinking:

Session 1: For my big session on the first day - lanterns - make a lantern with a pattern - to cover creative development art objectives.
    Session 2: First day small session: I need to do a knowledge and understanding topic but I am stuck. I was going todo the differences between our homes and schools and theirs but she didnt really much like this,but offered no suggestions. Just to look at the atlas to get skills.
    Session 3: Big session: Differences between New Year in Wales and Chinese New Year.
    Session 4: Small session: Music - sing a Chinese song.
    Session 5 and 6: She has said to design and make a booklet detailling what we have learned. But this does not sit well with me and Im not sure what to do.