1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Childrens behaviour at certain times of the day.

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Nachil01, Dec 19, 2017.

1. Nachil01

Nachil01 New commenter

This is my first post on here and I'm hoping some experienced EYFS teachers can share some wisdom or ideas to help me with my Reception class this year. I am still fairly new to teaching having completed my NQT year only a few years ago. My class this year have a lot of complex needs but in terms of behaviour for learning I haven't really had a problem in general in terms of lessons like phonics, maths or topic. They are all engaged during activities and most show good attention during carpet time because they enjoy the activities and I have used a lot of positive praise to excite their interest in learning. However I am finding specific areas of the day (perhaps less related to academic learning) incredibly challenging with this particular class that I have not encountered previously. For example during Tidy up time, I always have a large group of children who will be fully engaged in an activity but as soon as I stop the class and tell them it is time to tidy up, decide to jump on eachother in the middle of the classroom. I have used lots of positive praise, singing songs to promote tidying and praise those who are helping, had circle times about the importance of tidying up and I have even given these children jobs during this time to keep them busy. But the second my back is turned or I am talking to another child they have abandoned their task and are on top of eachother again. I am fed up and frankly exhausted spending these moments with my eyes on them constantly to make sure they are on task.