1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Children putting hands up

Discussion in 'Primary' started by karizma1485, Jan 19, 2012.

1. Hi there,

I'm a student teacher in my second week of placement. One of the comments made by my class teacher earlier this week was that I needed to differentiate my questions and make them more challenging particularly for the higher ability children. However I tried it today and I noticed that the higher ability children were unresponsive or in her words 'sleepy'. I noticed that these children only responded to more easier questions. Nevetheless she said the lesson was good and that I was showing that I had high expectations of the children and that I was pushing them. However I'm unsure whether giving them harder questions is pushing them. When I question them as I normally would do they are usually full of ideas. I understand that children should be pushed, as that is what they go to school for. However there just seems that something is not quite right when you ask a series of questions and just see a sea of vacant faces staring back at you and you are constantly having to give them the answers!
    Of course it likely I'm wrong as I am new to teaching but I would like to know whether a show of no hands after a question is asked is a good thing? I just get the impression from my teacher it is and since my teacher is my mentor as well it is difficult to get a alternative opinion.
    Any comments would be appreciated :)

2. Hi there,