1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Children not hitting end of year levels

Discussion in 'Primary' started by I_like_food, Feb 16, 2011.

1. I am wondering about other people's experience on this

I am in my second year of teaching and as in all schools, the children I teach have a set end of year target for Reading, Writing and Maths. Some I feel will not hit that target of 2 sub levels progress. However this is a challenging class (many of the classes in this school are) and am worried that them not hitting their targets will be a reflection on me. For some children I think it is a big jump anyway.

Have people had this happen to them regularly?

2. NQT1986

NQT1986 Occasional commenter

Yep! Ours are supposed to make three sub levels of progress, rather than two; it's simply madness.

3. flickaz

flickaz New commenter

Try being in year 6 and having the pressure of getting them all to 4+! This year 1 of my children has made absolutely 0 progress (and in some assessments actually go backwards) whereas another one has made 2 whole levels progress in maths (he started the year assessed as a 2C, most recent assessment he just got a 4)

4. Milgod

Milgod Established commenter

Is this for all years?

5. NQT1986

NQT1986 Occasional commenter

It's 3 for KS1, but it's 'only' two sub levels in KS2. Is this different in other schools?

6. Both my children (daughter G&T, son SA+) had significant problems with school because of this way of, presumably, 'raising expectations'. The idea that all children should be expected to follow the learning and/or developmental trajectory of the average child is indeed bizarre.

7. Milgod